Charleston Law Review

Charleston Law Review The Charleston Law Review is the Charleston School of Law's flagship journal. This is our official page, where we post photos from recent events, links to interesting legal topics, and (funny) Bluebook jokes.

Follow us on Twitter @Charleston L. Rev. If you are a current member or an alum of CLR, join our LinkedIn group: http://www.linkedin.com/groups/Charleston-Law-Review-4931452.

02/07/2020

12th Annual Law and Society Symposium starts at 8:30!! Make sure to get down to the Charleston Music Hall for a great keynote speaker at 8:45, with intriguing and thought provoking panels starting at 9:30. CLE credits for those attending!

12/10/2019

We are please to announce The Honorable Paul C. Ney, Jr. will be the keynote speaker at the 12th annual Law and Society Symposium!

Please help us welcome our new members for Volume XIV!!Huge shout out to Rachel Red Photography for taking some great pi...
09/11/2019

Please help us welcome our new members for Volume XIV!!

Huge shout out to Rachel Red Photography for taking some great pictures of induction!

07/10/2019

We are currently accepting submissions for our Supreme Court Issue in the fall. If you have a submission please reach out to [email protected]

Cybersecurity: Keeping Us Safe or Making Us Vulnerable? 10th Annual Law and Society Symposium
02/09/2018

Cybersecurity: Keeping Us Safe or Making Us Vulnerable? 10th Annual Law and Society Symposium

The Charleston Law Review is currently accepting article submissions relating to cybersecurity and the law. Articles of ...
01/02/2018
Charleston Law Review - Symposium - Charleston School of Law

The Charleston Law Review is currently accepting article submissions relating to cybersecurity and the law. Articles of any length are welcome!

Information regarding our upcoming Symposium featuring keynote speaker Mike McConnell (U.S. Navy, ret.), former U.S. Director of National Intelligence, can be found here: http://charlestonlaw.edu/symposium/

Charleston Law Review and The Riley Institute at Furman present the 10th annual symposium: Cybersecurity: Keeping Us Safe Or Making Us Vulnerable? *CLE credit pending. For information email [email protected]

Congratulations to the dedicated students of CLR's Volume 11.4 Student Works Edition!! All the hard work paid off and yo...
11/11/2017

Congratulations to the dedicated students of CLR's Volume 11.4 Student Works Edition!! All the hard work paid off and you're officially published scholars! Amber Daniels Stíofán Mac Domhnaill Nicole Soulsby

10/28/2017

Congratulations to everyone who passed the bar exam today. And best of luck for the future!

10/18/2017
Trial Advocacy Witness Instructional Video

TRIAL ADVOCACY OPPORTUNITY.

Your help is requested at the Charleston School of Law's Annual Internal Trial Advocacy Competition: October 19-21st. This competition is how we select our new members to the Trial Advocacy Board who will then compete in mock trial competitions throughout the nation representing the Charleston of School of Law.
We are recruiting witnesses and would love for help from the Charleston community. You will be given a deposition from which you can refer to or read.

Sign-up here: http://signup.com/go/wXKBnJV

Video describing your role as a witness: https://youtu.be/y3RG0yjWjHs

Thank you for supporting the Charleston Law Trial Advocacy Board!

Please meet some of CLR's newest Executive and Editorial Board members. We're all looking forward to another successful ...
08/30/2017

Please meet some of CLR's newest Executive and Editorial Board members. We're all looking forward to another successful year with Charleston Law Review!
(L-R): Stephen McDonald, Grace Studer, Mallory Sikora, Lauren Daniels (Editor in Chief), Nicole Soulsby, Ty Robinson, Alon Faiman, Amber Daniels.

Congratulations to the newest members of Charleston Law Review! We look forward to another successful year ahead!
08/21/2017

Congratulations to the newest members of Charleston Law Review! We look forward to another successful year ahead!

As we navigate through law school and out into a career with one of the highest levels of stress, don't let the pressure...
07/18/2017
The Lawyer, the Addict

As we navigate through law school and out into a career with one of the highest levels of stress, don't let the pressure get the better of you. The legal field is known for having one of the highest rates of depression and addiction. There are plenty of resources available to help. Don't be afraid to reach out and talk to someone.

A high-powered Silicon Valley attorney dies. His ex-wife investigates, and finds a web of drug abuse in his profession.

07/10/2017

When is a Bluebook not blue? When it's read, of course.
#illseemyselfout #bluebook #sorrynotsorry

Happy 4th of July everyone! From all of us at Charleston Law Review!!#independenceday #brexit1776 #usa #murica
07/04/2017

Happy 4th of July everyone! From all of us at Charleston Law Review!!
#independenceday #brexit1776 #usa #murica

It's easy to question how someone could defend a potential criminal. As budding lawyers - and practicing attorneys too -...
06/26/2017
Defending the indefensible? Lawyers on representing clients accused of nightmarish crimes

It's easy to question how someone could defend a potential criminal. As budding lawyers - and practicing attorneys too - we must remember that the accused have a right to counsel too. This is an interesting article with interviews from attorneys who defended people accused of some of the most gruesome crimes.

Rory Carroll and Simon Hattenstone talk to the lawyers who've taken on some of the toughest cases

06/22/2017
www.supremecourt.gov

The Supreme Court decided today that it's ok for the Government to suppress evidence if it pokes holes in their theory...or something to that effect. A good read on Brady violations and lack thereof.

Some good tips for those of us knee-deep in work this summer :-)
06/21/2017
10 tips for better legal writing

Some good tips for those of us knee-deep in work this summer :-)

Throughout your career as a lawyer, you'll be judged professionally on two main things: your interpersonal skills and your writing. Although the requirements of writing assignments will vary depending on

05/26/2017
For Authors | Charleston Law Review

Charleston Law Review is now accepting submissions for the fall issues of Volume XII. Submissions can be submitted via Scholastica- link below!

Congratulations to all of the Charleston Law Review members who graduated yesterday. We certainly will miss you!
05/08/2017

Congratulations to all of the Charleston Law Review members who graduated yesterday. We certainly will miss you!

The first three editions of Volume 11 are all printed! The Symposium Edition, with contributions from all of the speaker...
04/18/2017

The first three editions of Volume 11 are all printed! The Symposium Edition, with contributions from all of the speaker/panelists at this year's Symposium, will be printing shortly, followed by the Student Works Edition, featuring members of the Charleston Law Review.

As you can see, it's been a very busy but very productive year for the journal. We're sad for another school year end, but excited for what Volume 12 has in store for 2017-18!

Panel 1: The Intersection of Immigration and CriminalLawAmanda Bethea Keaveny, Attorney, Amanda Bethea Keaveny P.A. Geor...
01/19/2017

Panel 1: The Intersection of Immigration and Criminal
Law

Amanda Bethea Keaveny, Attorney, Amanda Bethea Keaveny P.A. George N. Miller, Partner, Dozier Miller Law Group
Helen Parsonage, Partner, Elliot Morgan Parsonage

Panel 2: Examining the Civil Liberties and Rights Of
Immigrants

Sunita Patel, Practitioner-in-Residence Civil Advocacy Clinic, American University Washington College of Law
Patricia Ravenhorst, Director, SC Immigrant Victim Network
Doug Thie, Attorney, Clawson and Staubes LLC

Panel 3: Immigration Reform and its Effect on the
Economy: Can South Carolina Afford to Do Nothing?

Gerald Goulder, Founding Attorney, Goulder Immigration Law Firm
Hans Christian Linnartz, Lead Attorney, Linnartz Immigration Law Office Mark David Witte, Associate Professor of Economics and MBA Director, College of Charleston

Approved for 5 CLE Credits

For more infomation contact Geoff Waite at [email protected]

Register at:
http://charlestonlawreview.org/2017-Immigration-Law-Symposium.aspx

Volume 10.3 is here! The CLR Student Works Edition! Congratulations to Andrew T. Smith, Gabby Sulpizio, Kevin C. Johnson...
11/11/2016

Volume 10.3 is here! The CLR Student Works Edition! Congratulations to Andrew T. Smith, Gabby Sulpizio, Kevin C. Johnson, and David DuTremble!

Hot off the press! Charleston Law Review Vol. 10.2 just arrived at our office in the mail!LatCrit Symposium Edition, fea...
11/07/2016

Hot off the press! Charleston Law Review Vol. 10.2 just arrived at our office in the mail!

LatCrit Symposium Edition, featuring Professors Steven W. Bender, Gil Gott, Lindsay Perez Huber, Charles R. Venator-Santiago, Guadalupe T. Luna, and Saru Matambanadzo, Francisco Valdes, and Sheila I. Velez-Martinez!

"The 'question of how one writes a brief (emergency or otherwise) to capture five justices on an ideological, evenly div...
09/11/2016
Without conservative Supreme Court majority, voter-law challengers make gains

"The 'question of how one writes a brief (emergency or otherwise) to capture five justices on an ideological, evenly divided court remains a great one to consider,' Richard Hasen, a law professor at the University of California at Irvine, wrote last week after the court’s action in the North Carolina case."

https://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/courts_law/without-conservative-supreme-court-majority-voter-law-challengers-make-gains/2016/09/05/5ac74948-704e-11e6-9705-23e51a2f424d_story.html?wpisrc=nl_evening&wpmm=1

Two of their top targets, Texas and North Carolina, won’t be able to implement their strict ID laws in the fall.

Perhaps this could be a discussion point at this year's Symposium..?http://www.wsj.com/articles/justice-department-gave-...
09/01/2016
Justice Department Gave Supreme Court Incorrect Data in Immigration Case

Perhaps this could be a discussion point at this year's Symposium..?

http://www.wsj.com/articles/justice-department-gave-supreme-court-incorrect-data-in-immigration-case-1472569756?mod=wsj_nview_latest

The Justice Department said it provided the Supreme Court with erroneous information that helped it win a 2003 case upholding a blanket policy of denying bail to thousands of immigrants imprisoned while appealing deportation orders.

Address


Alerts

Be the first to know and let us send you an email when Charleston Law Review posts news and promotions. Your email address will not be used for any other purpose, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Contact The Business

Send a message to Charleston Law Review:

Nearby law practices